Easy Peasy Pizza for a Picnic

After a crazy 2011, I was presented with the opportunity to work in Brisbane for 6 months since 3 weeks ago, and I am absolutely appreciating the long due break. And so in lieu of all things new, I went for a hike in the mountains yesterday for the first time in my life.

I went with my French flatmate as well as a girl from Berlin we recently met when we went out for drinks and ice cream on Saturday night. Both were wonderful company and I could not have been more content, though I would have been able to show my content better if my lungs and heart weren’t feeling like they would explode every other second.

Image

Now, that would be the view from the summit lookout, which was breathtaking. The girls exclaimed how “city” I was as I was brimming with excitement with every little thing I saw from white butterflies and little streams to 5 feet long lizards. Not too much excitement about the lizards though to be quite honest.

Image

aaaanyyway, my point is I came up with a cute little picnic for us to enjoy after much walking uphill. I have to emphasize on uphill because you have not walked or ran until you have done it for an hour and a half non stop —uphill. And fortunately I managed the trek with a brave face! (Isn’t the background absolutely beautiful?)

And the pizza came in handy in re-fueling me for the trip towards another track in the mountain. (Recipe at the bottom of page)

And of course a sandwich is in order when we go for picnics. It was basically sliced sour dough bread with tuna at the bottom topped with diced onions, tomato and capsicum which was stir fried first with salt, chill powder, bush seasoning and black pepper.

Soon after we had a little lie down in the grass and rolled about and headed up towards another track and then back home. It was only about 4 hours but I was completely knackered by then.

It was nice.

Love,

The Starting Chef .

Easy Peasy Pizza

Recipe 

  • 25 cm by 25 cm Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets (1 sheet), thawed
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 small green pepper chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 red onion, chopped (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup diced tomatoes (sliced tomatoes make the pastry base soggy b’cos of the juice)
  • 4 tblspn Prego® Traditional Italian Sauce/tomato sauce with mixed herbs
  • 1/2 cups sliced mozzarella and  shredded cheddar cheese
  •  Ground black pepper to taste
  • Cayenne pepper to taste
  • Salt to taste
  • 4 Sprigs of Basil
Directions
  1. Heat the oven to 400°F.
  2. Unfold the pastry sheet and place onto a baking sheet.  Fold over the edges 1/2 inch on all sides, pressing firmly to form a rim.  Prick the center of the pastry thoroughly with a fork.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown.
  4. Heat the oil in a 10-inch skillet over medium heat.  Add pepper and onion and cook until they’re tender, stirring occasionally and adding cayenne, black pepper and salt.
  5. Spread the sauce on the pastry.  Top with the vegetable mixture.  Sprinkle with the cheese and add basil.
  6. Bake for 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.
  7. Flavor Variation: Add any of your favorite pizza toppers: pepperoni, sliced pitted olives or cooked crumbled sausage.
2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Pizza for a Picnic

Leave a Reply

