Durian Puffs

If you don’t like durians or mangosteens, you can never connect with me at a deeper level. For example, this hotel. Durians, I understand (no, really I don’t), but mangosteens?!

It is no coincidence that they are both in season during the same period. Durian heats your body up whereas mangosteen has cooling properties so they are best consumed together. It’s a will of God.

Note to KB: It’s true!! I did not make this up so I can eat them both at them same time!!!

5Β  Fun Facts about Durians, Mangosteens and I.

1) I am a very fussy durian picker. I stand there poking those durians placed in styrofoams for longer than is approriate to do so.

2) I am a really irritating durian haggler, many a china men have given me cheaper durians so I’d get out of their face.

3) The durians I pick always taste good. Always. (They darn well be after going through processes stated in point 1 and 2.)

4) I once ate 2kg of mangosteens in one sitting; all by myself, right in front of KB just to prove that yes, that’s what I usually do. He tried really hard (and failed) to hide his surprise. He later murmured something about how he likes it too but not as much as I do. Carefully chosen words there KB. Well Done.

5) I went to the Singapore Zoo last year.. I didn’t take much pictures of animals but I did take pictures of these two exhibits. I bet you didn’t even know it existed.

I am not going to attempt to describe the taste of durians simply because, after what this guy below said; whatever I say is gonna sound like blabber.

The fact that I sound like that the rest of the time is not important.

Here goes the famous 19th century naturalist, Alfred Russell Wallace after he ate his first durian in Borneo:

“A rich, butter-like custard highly flavored with almonds, but intermingled with wafts of flavor that call to mind cream cheese, onion sauce, brown sherry and other incongruities.Then there is a rich glutinous smoothness in the pulp which nothing else possesses, but which adds to its delicacy. It is neither acid nor sweet nor juicy; yet it wants neither of these qualities, for it is in itself perfect. It produces no nausea or other bad effect, and the more you eat of it the less you feel inclined to stop. In fact, to eat Durians is a new sensation worth a voyage to the East to experience. … as producing a food of the most exquisite flavour it is unsurpassed.”

It’s like a poem about durians. I like it. He and I could have been great friends; too bad he died a long time ago other wise I would have wanted him to write one for mangosteens.

So now, I was wondering if I should attempt durian cake, durian cheese cake, or durian puff.

Durian Cake from Secret Recipe in KL


KB was disturbed by the durian cheese cake idea so I settled on durian puffs. Another reason I wanted to make durian puffs so bad, was because I have never made puffs before so I was reaaallly excited about trying and might I add… I turned out to be quite the puff-maker.

My very first choux pastry

Anyone heard the song choux pastry heart by Corrine Bailey? That’s what my heart felt like when these little babies came out of the oven.. sigh.. Life’s little pleasures πŸ™‚

The dough to make the puff; it looked really weird and un-puffy looking but it turned out just fine.

Me using my arm muscles.

You put the dough into a decorating bag and squeeze them into little twirls and then pat the top with a wet finger.

Fresh out of the oven!


Fill the puffs with the durian filling!

Durian Puffs!

It was really just like how that poet (okay he is not a poet) described it above..Β  Rich…and Perfect..I’m sorry I don’t have a better photo! I was too busy having fun doing the dishes.Β  Besides, they were over and out too fast, courtesy of my dad, bro and KB. They probably had 10 each. I’m not kidding. But I’mΒ  not complaining! I don’t think they keep very well, especially the filling!

My dad thought I bought the puffs! He was pleasantly shocked when he found out I made it alllll by myselfff. I mean yeah its no big deal, but… c’mon.. it sort of is…. TO ME AT LEAST!Β  hahahaha. πŸ˜€

I had fun! Try it! (Recipe below)

Love,

The Starting Chef β™₯

P.S: I honestly have no idea why my post on durian puffs includes mangosteens.

The Recipe adapted from Baking Mum


Ingredients:

Choux Pastry:
85ml water
50g butter
pinch of salt
1/4 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla essence
50g bread flour
20g cake flour
2 eggs (lightly beaten)

Makes about ten puffs

Method:

Choux Pastry
1. Cook water, butter, sugar and salt in a saucepan till bubbling hot. Turn the heat to low.
2. Add in the flour mixture in one go and mix with a wooden spoon till a dough is formed.
3. Still on low heat, cook the dough for 1 – 2 minutes till a thin white film is formed at the bottom of the saucepan.
4. Transfer dough to a mixing bowl and beat till it is lukewarm.
5. Add in egg by thirds and mix till well blended and smooth.
6. Place batter into piping bag and pipe it onto a lined pan in rounds of about 5cm in diameter. Spray some water on it.
7. Bake at 200C for 25 minutes then 180C for 8 – 10 minutes or till dry and golden brown in color. Turn off the oven and let it cool in the oven for 30 minutes.

Ingredients:

Durian Fillings
200 or 250 ml of non-diary whipping cream
equivalent amount of durian pulps
10 gm of gelatine powder
3 tbsp of hot water to dissolve gelatine powder

Method:

Durian Fillings

1. Whip up whipping cream to a soft peak. (The mixture turns glossy and white and a little stiff but not too much!!)
2. Add in durian pulps and melted gelatine powder and mix well.
3. Put fillings in a piping bag and pipe it out into the baked choux pastry. If you like, you can just spoon the fillings into the pastry too.
4. Dust the top of the pastry with some snow powder and leave it in fridge to chill before serving.


14 thoughts on “Durian Puffs

  1. How come i didnt know that these were your two favourite fruits???? after all these years!! sheesh

    These are mine too! My third is mangoes.(both the ripe and unripe ones)

    WE SHOULD SO GO TO JB AND EAT DURIANS BY THE ROADSIDE. I love durian.. when we buy it at home… I’m the who peels its open!! Its such an adventure! Lol… high risk some more; all the thorns!

    And I love mangosteens too.. Some people find them disgusting. I find them annoying and uneducated. (by them, i’m refering to the people)

    ps: durian cheesecake would leave me in such a dilemma!! and prob an upset tummy too? haha

    1. I knew those were your favourite fruits!! We hv discussed this before in jc!! bad memory khairiah jamaludeen!!
      But no im not the one who peels it open.. I end up hurting myself in someway.. so my bro or mum do it!
      I am lovin the idea of durians in in jb!!! I hv never tried the durians in m’sia only once in melacca wen i was really young! πŸ˜€

  2. I totally understand the reason why u have included mangosteens in this post…… And I was never disturbed by the durian cheesecake idea.. I think u should try it the next time u come spore… Anyway it was really superb….(the durian puffs)

    1. Thanks babe..
      of u understand the reason why i added it.. you hv seen me in action before πŸ˜€

      we’ll try out the durian cheesecake k.. we’ll jus experiment n see how it goes… πŸ™‚

  3. OMG OMG the wonders of durian….looks soooooo good….the one thing i miss alot in this Aussie land…:((( good job babe…as usual your cooking nv fails to impress me. hahaha… n yes i know wat its like when u make something and it comes out all perfect just the way u want it! Great Work;)

  4. Hey gal,

    For e durian fillings, is 200ml of whipping cream and 200ml of durian pulp OR total of 200ml of whipping cream n durian pulp??

  5. Hey gal! Thks so much!! I will try my hands at e durian puffs! I like ur recipes so much n looking forward to more recipes from u… Good day!

Leave a Reply

