Chocolate Mousse Heaven

The reason for such a long wait before this post was because after typing this post two weeks ago, my dodgy internet failed on me and my draft got erased. I got so annoyed I did not attempt to re-write it until today!

This is one of the first few things I made once I was back in Singapore which was 3 weeks ago. The weather here is unforgiving and as a result I fell sick (still am!) As much as I was born and bred in Singapore, I unfailingly fall sick every time I arrive from Perth, much to the annoyance of my friends and family in Singapore! I do not know if it is the drastic change in weather as it was winter in Perth, the humidity level in Singapore or just the pollution (or maybe I just miss beautiful Perth)

I am hoping I become well soon or otherwise my blog is gonna be malnourished and I won’t be able to get out as much as I should be!

Now on a lighter note! My chocolate mousse turned out really well. And no, that’s not a frangipani on my chocolate mousse it’s actually white chocolate shavings. It looks strangely like a flower. So yes, the chocolate mousse had a really airy composition and tasted really yummmay and the good news is it requires little sugar thus making it healthy AND it contains chocolate! So what else can anyone need!




Ingredients

224 g semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

120 ml water

30 g butter

3 eggs

25 g sugar

295 ml whipping cream, whipped

1 tsp vanilla extract

In a medium-sized stainless steel bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and butter and water. Remove from heat and set aside to cool for a few minutes. Then whisk in the two egg yolks. Refrigerate while you whip the egg whites and whipping cream.

In the bowl of your electric mixer, whip the three egg whites until foamy. Gradually add two tablespoons of sugar and continue to beat until stiff peaks form, yet the whites are still glossy and not dry (picture below). Set aside.



In another bowl, whip the heavy cream, remaining one tablespoon sugar, and vanilla extract until soft peaks form.

Remove the chocolate mixture from the refrigerator, and fold egg whites into the chocolate mixture, gently but thoroughly. Fold in the whipped cream.

Spoon the chocolate mousse into 6-7 individual serving glasses or eat it out of the bowl like I did. Cover and refrigerate for a couple of hours and then serve with additional whipped cream, fresh raspberries and/or shaved white chocolate like I did; I added a sprig of mint too.





This would be the desired consistency of the mousse (picture above) I did not have any pictures cos the mousse was finished in minutes! But I tasted it, it was airy and chocolatey! However, I sieved the chocolate mixture as I wanted it to be a little smoother! I served the chocolate mousse in all these pretty little glasses that my mum had in the cupboard! The rose is part of the floral arrangement my mum had at home as well! I tried my best to make the picture look a little prettier! Enjoy!



Love,

Nisha ♥

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse Heaven

    1. It could be because you over beat the egg white so they didn’t mix well with the chocolate mousse. The egg white should still be a little glossy and not dry when you attempt to mix them with the rest of the mixture. Hope that helps! 🙂 I’m glad to hear they still tasted good!

Leave a Reply

