Carrot Cake (No, not the Asian one!)

This post has been sitting in my drafts folder for ages! I just ended my final semester exams and will be going back to Singapore soon for the winter holidays! YAY! The first thing I do once I get home after my last paper (which was ridiculous easy by the way.. pfft!) was what?

Update my blog of course.. I think about it day and night as I am cramming for my exams or doing some ugly report which will not make a difference in my life in years to come. It might, but I like to think it doesn’t matter in the larger scheme of things; things such as when I become a celebrity chef with adoring fans from all over the universe just screaming my name in hunger for my pleasure inducing chocolate cookies. Okay, I’m kidding.  I honestly want to become a HR exec and change the way people work and feel about their organisation. Doesn’t have the same oomph as my previous plan does it!

Aaaanyway, the first reaction when I told my housemate and my mum that I wanted to bake carrot cake was “EEEEWW!”

What is wrong with the world? Who doesn’t like carrot cake! Just because the cake has a vegetable in it doesn’t make it disgusting, it actually allows me to live in a disillusion that I am fulfilling my daily vegetable needs. And have my cake too.

The taste of the carrot is really subtle.. It adds a crunch and is really moist. It is really easy to do ! So try it!

This is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup chopped almonds/pecans

Note: I used half the recipe and it still managed to fill a 8 inch pan!


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in carrots. Fold in almonds/pecans. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.


I grated the carrots and had to use sieve to remove the excess carrot juices as I did not want to make my cake soggy. The grating part wasn’t all fun,joy and laughter, I suggest you make someone else do it !


I sprinkled some (okay a lot) of slivered almonds over the top cos I love them almonds and also cos they were reaching their expiry date! heh!


It looked a lot like fruit cake when I took it out of the oven!


It was very yummy and keeps well in the fridge and taste exactly the same when heated in the microwave for a minute.

Enjoy!


Love,

Nisha ♥

5 thoughts on “Carrot Cake (No, not the Asian one!)

  1. i’ve missed you and your posts. ❤

    anw, yr subject title was exactly what i thought when you offered me a piece of carrot cake the other day.

    i love anything with cinnamon in it so this one was right up my alley. 😀

  2. Hello Nish,

    It always feels great when exams are over !!! I remember my student’s times and my university teacher’s times….You know, I know very little about carrot cake, it is neither in the Argentinian nor in the French tradition, so I guess one of these days I will try to make it !!!
    Enjoy your winter holidays AND you can be a great HR pro AND cook !!

    1. I am gonna miss university as well once I graduate end of this year.. I had some good memories.. And pls do let me know how it goes if you do try the carrot cake! And yes hopefully I can work and still find the time and space to pursue my love for cooking.. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

