Cheesecake Brownie

Hello Everyone!

Today afternoon I made this cheesecake brownie with my housemate, Aina.  For those who love their cheesecakes and their brownies this is for you! The brownie is chocolatey and moist whereas the cheesecake is slightly tangy and deliciously cheesy. I loved it and so did my housemates!

I think Aina got a little miffed because I kept ask her to move out my way constantly, sorry dear, but I really can’t help it. I am a kitchen Nazi.

When I was cooking at home I constantly asked my family members to bugger off if they’re hovering around me… and my dad…goodness…where do I begin.. even though he has never ever baked anything in his life, my dad chooses to give me random comments about how I’m doing something wrong with whatever it is I’m cooking or baking e.g why does the batter look runny, fruit tarts aren’t supposed to be that small, why are you putting so much of salt in the chicken etc etc.. right in the middle of an important step of my cooking/baking.

He has his little weird ways of grating on my nerves while I’m in the kitchen but I know he is terribly proud of some of my food creations. ( I even caught him boasting about it to my boyfriend once!)

Now back to my cheesecake brownie, these are the things you need:

For The Brownie

  • 200g butter
  • 150g castor sugar
  • 35g cocoa
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 90g plain flour, sifted
  • Nine inch pan

For The Cheesecake

  • 448 g Philadelphia cream cheese, softened (2 Packages)
  • 100 g white sugar
  • 5 ml vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs

Okay this is really easy, first you make the brownie.

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Celsius.

Melt the butter in the microwave for about a minute or two depending on how cold it is. Then you add the sifted cocoa and sugar to the butter and mix it well with a spoon. You then add the eggs and whisk it with an electric beater and gradually add the sifted flour to the mixture.

Butter the pan (meaning you rub some butter into the bottom and sides of the pan) and pour your mixture in the pan and pop it in the oven and bake it for about 20-25 minutes ( not too long or else the brownie will become hard). You can add hazelnuts or walnuts to the brownie mixture if you wish.


Next you make the cheesecake.

Making cheesecake is not rocket science as most of us would like to think. Here’s why…

All you have to do is pop the cream cheese into the microwave oven for a couple of minutes so that it will become soft to touch. You then beat it with an electric beater till smooth and then you add the sugar, vanilla to the cream cheese and continue beating. You then add the eggs one by one and continue to beat it for a couple more minutes till it looks smooth and creamy. You then take the brownie out of the oven and pour the cheesecake batter over the brownie.




You can decorate it with chocolate chips too. I got my housemate to do any design she likes and therefore we have this cute little butterfly.   After which you  pop the pan back in the oven for another forty minutes . You can then sit down and watch TV while you lick up the cheesecake batter from the bowl and wait for your cheesecake brownie to be done!  😀

Tip: Put your pan in the middle rack of the oven, and at the bottom rack put in a pan full of boiling water. Usually cheesecakes are cooked with a bain marie but we do not have the luxury of one so this will just have to suffice. Also, once you take out the cheesecake brownie run the sides of the pan with a knife to loosen the edges and prevent the cheesecake from cracking.



And there you have it! The pretty little cheesecake brownie!



My housemates loved it! They’re smiling so I take it as a good sign! Enjoy!


Love,

Nisha

10 thoughts on “Cheesecake Brownie

Leave a Reply

