Spaghetti Aglio Olio with Portobello mushrooms

Well, this is my first entry and I started out with a fairly easy recipe.

You will need:

5 tbsp Olive Oil

5 Bird’s Eye Chilli ( You could use more or less depending on your spice threshold)

5 Cloves of Garlic

4 big Portobello mushrooms

1 Yellow Capsicum (Red, green, it’s really up to you)

Salt and Black Pepper to taste

You chop em’ up. The key is to chop up the garlic as finely as possible. For the bird’s eye chilly (chilly padi); remember the finer you chop it, the spicier your dish will be.

You can never have too much of garlic in your dishes so feel free to add more garlic and the Portobello mushrooms reduce in size by more than half when you saute them so you could use five or six if you don’t like your spaghetti too plain. I added the capsicum just because I wanted my dish to have colour! (Something that my mum taught me)  I also added lots of black pepper either coarse or fine it’s up to you. Usually aglio oli doesn’t have either capsicum or mushroom, it’s basically spaghetti tossed in garlic and chilli oil.

Remove the sauteed capsicum and mushrooms from heat and toss it together with the spaghetti and add some extra sharp Parmesan cheese for flavor.

Aaaaaannndd it’s done! Enjoy! I know I did…

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti Aglio Olio with Portobello mushrooms

Leave a Reply

